Tugas Sofskil Ke-4 Bhs Inggris 2

BECAUSE & BECAUSE OF

Because of adalah preposisi – itu diikuti oleh klausa nomina / kata benda atau kata ganti

Contoh :          I am here because of the job offer

Because adalah kata sambung- itu diikuti oleh subjek dan kata kerja

Contoh :          I came here because this is a good school

SOAL

1.  He can’t go to the party………. he feels sick. ( Because )

2.  Andi can’t go to the Dufan……… he feels busy. ( Because )

3.  He can’t go to the party…………feeling sick. ( Because Of )

4.  Santo can’t go to the Dufan………… feelling busy. ( Because Of )

5.  He can’t go to the party……….. his sickness. ( Because Of )

6.  Rano can’t go to the campus……… his sickness. ( Because Of )

7.  I am here…….. you. ( Because Of )

8.  I am here………. The job offer. ( Because Of )

9.  I came here……….. this is a good school. ( Because )

10. I stay here………… this is a good idea. ( Because )

 

NOUN CLAUSE

Noun clause adalah klausa yang berfungsi sebagai nomina. Karena fungsinya sebagai nomina, maka noun clause dapat menduduki posisi-posisi berikut:

  1. Subjek kalimat (subject of a sentence)
  2. Objek verba transitif (object of a transitive verb)
  3. Objek preposisi (object of a preposition)
  4. Pelengkap (complement)
  5. Pemberi keterangan tambahan (noun in apposition)

Two common types of noun clause in English are that-clauses and wh-clauses:

  • that-clause: I believe that everything happens for a reason.
  • wh-clause: How do I know what I think, until I see what I say?

 

SOAL

1. Buatlah kalimat noun clause dari object preposition “about,” and answers the question “about what?!”

( about what you bought at the mall )

2. Buatlah kalimat noun clause dari subject verb “will have to pay,” and answers the question “who will have to pay?!”

( Whoever broke the vase will have to pay for it )

3. Buatlah kalimat noun clause dari object of the verb “hope,” and answers the question “what do the fans hope?!”

( The Toronto fans hope that the Blue Jays will win again )

4. Buatlah kalimat that clause?!

( I believe that everything happens for a reason )

5. Buatlah kalimat what clause?!

( How do I know what I think, until I see what I say? )

6.  …………….you bought at the mall. ( about what )

7. Whoever broke the vase…………………..for it. (  will have to pay )

8.  The Toronto fans……….that the Blue Jays will win again. ( hope )

9.  I believe……………everything happens for a reason. ( that )

10. How do I know……………I think, until I see………….I say?. ( what & what )

 

NOT ONLY – BUT ALSO

Not only…but also yang bermakna ‘tidak hanya…tapi juga’

Contoh:

·      Not only my sister but also my brother is in Makassar.

·      Not only my sister but also my brothers are in Makassar.

Ketika ada dua subjek yang dihubungkan oleh not only…but also, either…or, or neither…nor’ maka subject yang lebih dekat dengan kata kerja yang akan menentukan apakah kata kerjanya berbentuk tunggal atau jamak.

 

 

SOAL

1.  ……….. me…….. her go to campus. ( not only & but also)

2.  ……….. my brother……….. my sister is in Jakarta. ( not only & but also)

3.  ……….. my father………… my mother is in home. ( not only & but also )

4.  ……….. my brothers……….. my sisters are in Surabaya.  ( not only & but also )

5.  ……….. Andi……… Budi is in classroom. ( not only & but also )

6.  ……….. Irna………. Sinta is in bathroom. ( not only & but also )

7.  ……….. Ujang………. Asep is in field. ( not only & but also )

8.  ……….. Siti………… Markonah is in garden. ( not only & but also )

9.  ……….. David………. Selly is in cinema. ( not only & but also )

10. ……….. Rio………… Nina is in classroom. ( not only & but also )

 

HAVE SOMETHING DONE

If you ‘have something done’, you get somebody else to do something for you.

  • I’m going to have my hair cut.

In informal English, we can replace ‘have’ by ‘get’.

  • We’re getting a new telephone system installed

We can also use ‘have/got something done’ in situations where something bad has happened to people or their possessions. This is not something they wanted to happen.

  • John had all his money stolen from his hotel bedroom.

SOAL

1.  She’s…………her house redecorated. ( having )

2.  I’m…………a copy of the report sent to you. ( having )

3.  They will be…………the system repaired as quickly as they can. ( getting)

4.  I………the bill sent direct to the company. ( got )

5.  We………our car damaged by a falling tree. ( had )

6. I…….my nose…………playing rugby. ( got & broken )

7.  I’m…………to have my hair cut. ( going )

8.  We’re…………….a new telephone system installed. ( getting )

9.  John………..all his money……..from his hotel bedroom. ( had & stolen )

10. He’s……………him house redecorated. ( having )

 

 

THE DEGREES OF COMPARISON

Tingkat Perbandingan

Kata sifat kuantitatif much dan little, dan kata sifat bilangan many and few, mempunyai tingkat

perbandingan (degrees comparison).

The degrees of comparison (tingkat perbandingan) berjumlah tiga tingkat, yaitu :

1. The positive degree (tingkat biasa)

2. The comparative (tingkat lebih/perbandingan)

3. The superlative (tingkat paling)

SOAL

1. He is a……….man like a pole. ( tall )

2. She ate her lunch……………( quickly)

3. He speaks………………( clearly )

4. The brown cat is……………….the grey cat. ( as beautiful as )

5. The brown cat is…………………………the black & white cat. ( not so beautiful as )

6. Her love is………………………………mine. ( as much as )

7. Sony and toshiba have……………………………..price. ( the same)

8. Solo is…………………………………………Surabaya. ( as beautiful as )

9. Notebook is more expensive………….personal computer. ( than )

10. Ina is………………………beautiful girls in my school. ( the most)

 

 

ADJECTIVE (kata sifat) & ADVERB (kata keterangan)

Adjective : Kata yang digunakan untuk menerangkan noun/pronoun.

Peletakan Adjective.
1. Adj + noun
Exp: Good boys.

2. *Indefinite pronoun + Adj
Exp: Something special.

3. S + to be/linking verb** + Adj
Exp: She is beautiful, She looks beautiful.

* Indenfinite Pronoun : someone, somebody, something, anyone, anybody, anything, no one, no body, nothing, everyone, everybody, everything.

** Linking Verb : appear, become, feel, look, remain (tetap), seem, sound, stay, taste, smell.

 

Adverb (kata keterangan)

Adverb : Kata yang digunakan untuk menerangkan verb, adjective, dan adverb yang lain.

Peletakan Adverb.
1. Adv + S + V + O
Exp: Finally, he did it.

2. S + Adv + V + O
Exp: She always studies hard.

3. S + V + O + Adv
Exp: He went to school.

4. S + to be + Adv (nominal sentence)
Exp: We are at home.

5. Adv + adv/adj
Exp: So slow or so slowly.

Example :
1. The train is fast. (Adjective)
2. The train runs fast. (Adverb)

 

SOAL

1.  He’s………….at learning new things. ( quick ) <adjective>

2.  He learns……….. ( quickly ) <adverb>

3.  He didn’t get a…………test score. ( bad ) <adjective>

4.  He didn’t do…………..in his test. ( badly ) <adverb>

5.  The teacher makes difficult things……… ( simple ) <adjective>

6.  He teaches…………..and………. ( simply & clearly ) <adverb>

7. She’s a…………pianist. ( good ) <adverb>

8.  She plays the piano………. ( well) <adverb>

9.  She’s an…………talented girl. ( incredibly ) <adverb>

10. You’re…………….right! ( absolutely ) <adverb>

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

